HForce delay

I didn’t actually get to test my LED strip last night. I decided it would be really cool if I didn’t need to have it attached to a monitor, because my only HDMI monitor is 23″ and a pain to lug around.

First I got an SSH app for my iPhone. Then I got my Pi’s IP address. Then I logged in from the phone and ran the LED driver app remotely. So far, so great. Huge progress in only an hour of work.

But then I realized that, without a monitor on it, I wouldn’t know what the Pi’s IP address was on someone else’s wifi. Worse, there might not even BE wifi. So I decided to turn the Pi into its own wifi hotspot so I could just connect to it directly. The first steps went well; I could see the Pi as a wifi source. But I must have done something stupid, because I can’t log into it AND it now cannot connect to the internet itself. So I need to undo all that wifi stuff today and start over.

All you Go programmers whose program crashed when playing against Poka, and whom I chided for changing your code the night before a tournament instead of just testing it to make sure everything worked? Feel free to laugh now.

Leave a Comment