Big Buddha

The first time I saw the Daibutsu,
the temple yard was filled
with hundreds of weekend visitors and tourists.
Now (Monday morning) it is nearly deserted,
more staff than guests.

As before, my engineer's eyes
see plates, joints and weldlines,
looped lift points, the technique
behind the object.
I go inside; it's much the same,
but with more recent extra bracing;
the outside all about appearance,
the inside all about structural integrity.
Show the what, hide the how:
a magic trick: all art is like that.

Back outside, a raven swoops,
perches on top of a sculpture, caws,
surveys his domain, before gliding
to the offering of fruit.
He has come not to pay his respects,
but to claim his tribute.
His motives are clear.

But I - why am *I* here?


Hasedera, Hase 2023/12/4

Leave a Comment