Sonnets To Orpheus II, 1

Atmen, du unsichtbares Gedicht!
Immerfort um das eigne
Sein rein eingetauschter Weltraum. Gegenwicht,
in dem ich mich rhythmisch ereigne.

Einzige Welle, deren
allmähliches Meer ich bin;
sparsamstes du von allen möglichen Meeren, -
Raumgewinn.

Wie viele von diesen Stellen der Räume waren schon
innen in mir. Manche Winde
sind wie mein sohn.

Erkennst du mich, Luft, du, voll noch einst meiniger Orte?
Du, einmal glatte Rinde,
Rundung und Blatt meiner Worte.

Breath, you invisible poem! Pure
continual exchange of our existence
for the world's extent. Counterbalance,
wherein I rhythmically recur.

Solitary wave,
whose ocean I become by degrees;
you sparsest of all possible seas -
what space you save!

How many of these spots of spaces
were inside me already! Many
a wind is like a son to me.

Do you recognize me, air, you so full of my former places?
You, smooth bark that girds,
roundness and leaf of my words.

Copyright ©1998,1999,2021 Howard A. Landman

Leave a Comment