Iceland day 10: Ice Blue Glaciers Come And Go

Has it been a million years
since our memories embraced?
Stars are falling down like tears
Will I ever see your face?
Ice blue glaciers come and go
I ask them all but they don’t know
How much longer, baby, till you rescue me?

from Rescue Me, an imitation-Hendrix song I wrote for a proposed fictionalized biopic of Jimi Hendrix which could not get rights to any actual Hendrix songs and so put out a call for fake Hendrix-like songs. I responded with two (the second one written with Todd Wayne). Fortunately, the movie never got made. Jimi’s lyrics often had extreme exaggeration of scale (“I stand up next to a mountain, chop it down with the edge of my hand.”); here I was going for extreme exaggeration of timescale, with the protagonist seemingly stuck in one place for thousands of years.

The south of Iceland is sparsely populated. When people first arrived 1200 years ago, the glaciers stretched all the way to the ocean and there was no place to raise crops or even hunt. They’ve retreated quite a bit since then, but still dominate the landscape. The giant Vatnajökull (“Lake Glacier”) covers 8% of Iceland’s surface area and is up to a kilometer thick in places. Its tongues are so big and so numerous that they have their own names. All eleven of the glaciers in this post are parts of Vatna.

There was no way we could hike to each tongue, or even park at them all, so I became a drive-by shooter. 🙂

We stopped by a huge dairy, but their ice cream shop was closed for COVID. The building on the right (behind the tanks) was the cow milking room.

Finally we hit our first glacial lagoon.

I had time to grab a “lobster sandwich” (langoustine on a hot dog bun) before our lagoon tour on an amphibious truck/boat.

Our guide shows off a chunk fished from the water.
I took about 20 pictures like this, but if you’ve seen one iceberg you’ve seen ’em all. 😛
the famous Diamond Beach, which is glacial ice drifts on black sand and gravel
When you need ice for your cooler and there’s a glacier handy
Quest item: Find Dr Pepper in Iceland (took 4 days!). Quest item: glacial ice. Combo quest: Drink Dr Pepper with glacial ice (location bonus: at Diamond Beach).
Seals were hunting in the channel to the sea.
lots of waterfowl in the distance

For dinner, I finally cooked. Rotini with choice of sun-dried tomato pesto or basil pesto.

2 Comments

  1. Cindi J says:

    Okay, so I’m the weird one that will disagree. When I have seen one iceberg, I have not seen them all. Man’s greatest invention is the zoom function for photos! Turquoise bands in icy blue – they are just plain amazing. I am always struck by the cleanliness of places outside the U.S. Even the grassy fields are pristine. I had to laugh at the pictures on the dairy windows. They look like ancient symbols.

  2. I was just being lazy. There were a dozen glacier pictures in the post already …

Leave a Comment