Croatia day 28: Zrmanja river

September 16th: We spent pretty much the whole day kayaking the Zrmanja river on a Raftrek tour. We had to lose a lot of altitude to get to the starting point, and drive some narrow roads.

The water was pretty low, so the rapids were mostly class I and II, but it was fairly easy to get stuck in spots.

Visoki Buk was the only waterfall we had to walk around. It’s about 4-5 meters.
Getting back in downstream
Going over the final 3 meter waterfall. Sadly, only one person per kayak allowed.

One awkward thing about the trip was that they only had enough bus room to take the drivers back to the cars. The rest of us had to wait at the takeout point for an hour. But, there was a restaurant there. So I ate dinner, but Carol didn’t because she wasn’t there.

My ćevapi came with sliced bun, instead of on a bun.

Eventually Carol picked me up. Then back out the narrow roads, and uphill to Gračac. We ate dinner at the Kralj Zonomic restaurant again. Or rather, Carol had dinner and I had dessert.

Carol had a pizza, and I had crepes with syrup and whipped cream.

1 Comment

  1. Cindi J says:

    Is that an ashtray on the table there?! The way the moss (or whatever it is) drapes over those falls is pretty cool. I take it those falls are not overly violent 🙂

Leave a Comment